Heartland

About the Author: Sarah Smarsh

Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the Heartland book, this is one of the most wanted Sarah Smarsh author readers around the world.


[Read] ➪ Heartland  By Sarah Smarsh – Onedayyourdayweddings.co.uk
  • Hardcover
  • 304 pages
  • Heartland
  • Sarah Smarsh
  • 22 May 2017
  • 1501133098

Heartland A Perfect Companion To Evicted And Nickel And Dimed, Heartland Reveals One Woman S Experience Of Working Class Poverty With A Startlingly Observed, Eye Opening, And Topical Personal Story.During Sarah Smarsh S Turbulent Childhood In Kansas In The 1980s And 1990s, The Forces Of Cyclical Poverty And The Country S Changing Economic Policies Solidified Her Family S Place Among The Working Poor By Telling The Story Of Her Life And The Lives Of The People She Loves, Smarsh Challenges Us To Look Closely At The Class Divide In Our Country And Examine The Myths About People Thought To Be Less Because They Earn Less Her Personal History Affirms The Corrosive Impact Intergenerational Poverty Can Have On Individuals, Families, And Communities, And She Explores This Idea As Lived Experience, Metaphor, And Level Of Consciousness.Smarsh Was Born A Fifth Generation Kansas Wheat Farmer On Her Paternal Side And The Product Of Generations Of Teen Mothers On Her Maternal Side Through Her Experiences Growing Up As The Daughter Of A Dissatisfied Young Mother And Raised Predominantly By Her Grandmother On A Farm Thirty Miles West Of Wichita, We Are Given A Unique And Essential Look Into The Lives Of Poor And Working Class Americans Living In The Heartland Combining Memoir With Powerful Analysis And Cultural Commentary, Heartland Is An Uncompromising Look At Class, Identity, And The Particular Perils Of Having Less In A Country Known For Its Excess.

10 thoughts on “Heartland

  1. Paul says:

    Heartland belongs on the shelf next to books like Desmond s Evicted, Vance s Hillbilly Elegy, and Ehrenreich s Nickle and Dimed Smarsh s book provides a strong voice for and about breaking the destructive cycles of families, the economics of class, and the fact that birth should not be the reigning mark of future prospects Smarsh is a talented writer who tells the story of her grandparents, parents, and extended family with clarity and warmth.For the full review Heartland belongs on the shelf next to books like Desmond s Evicted, Vance s Hillbilly Elegy, and Ehrenreich s Nickle and Dimed Smarsh s book provides a strong voice for and about breaking the destructive cycles of families, the economics of class, and the fact that birth should not be the reigning mark of future pros...

  2. Stephanie says:

    Many years ago, I read Barbara Ehrenreich s Nickel and Dimed and it knocked my socks off When I saw Sarah Smarsh s Heartland had been favorably compared to it and recommended to people who liked it, I jumped at the opportunity provided by Scribner and NetGalley to read it in exchange for my honest review.First of all, thanks a LOT, Sarah I was awake most of the night reading, then thinking about this book Like The Glass Castle, so many things in it resonated strongly with me while it both e Many years ago, I read Barbara Ehrenreich s Nickel and Dimed and it knocked my socks off When I saw Sarah Smarsh s Heartland had been favorably compared to it and recommended to people who liked it, I jumped at the opportunity provided by Scribner and NetGalley to read it in exchange for my honest review.First of all, thanks a LOT, Sarah I was awake most of the night reading, then thinking about this book Like The Glass Castle, so many things in it resonated strongly with me while it both entertained me and made me THINK My favorite kind of book Sarah had a chaotic childhood in Kansas in the 1980s and 1990s, when the cha...

  3. Kayo says:

    Wasn t what I was expecting Not up to Nickel and Dimed, not that I compared Not thrilled that I could t give a review for months after I got it from Netgalley Thanks to author, publisher and Netgalley for the chance to read this book While I got the book for free, it ...

  4. Brad says:

    As a lifelong Kansan who came from a working class family in Topeka but knew nothing of the life of the rural parts of my state, I declare this essential reading Essential not just for Kansans like me, but for so many who have no idea what rural poverty looks like Sarah Smarsh recounts the story of her family most notably the women who held the family together while also weaving it into the larger dynamics of an increasingly crueler American capitalism that began with Reagan and continues to As a lifelong Kansan who came from a working class family in Topeka but knew nothing of the life of the rural parts of my state, I declare this essential reading Essential not just for Kansans like me, but for so many who have no idea what rural poverty looks like Sarah Smarsh recounts the story of her family most notably the women who held the family together while also weaving it into the larger dynamics of an increasingly crueler American capitalism that bega...

  5. Janilyn Kocher says:

    Heartland is a great read I enjoyed Smarsh s family history immensely However, I m not buying her assertion that she grew up in poverty I suppose my definition of poverty differs from hers She always had a roof over her head and food to eat Smarsh never had to live in a car or under a bridge as many people have From my perspective, Smarsh was rich in love and perseverance that she learned from her family Various family members spent a fortune on booze and smokes over the years, which beli Heartland is a great read I enjoyed Smarsh s family history immensely However, I m not buying her assertion that she grew up in poverty I suppose my definition of poverty differs from hers She always had a roof over her head and food to eat Smarsh never had to live in a car or under a bridge as many people have From my perspective, Smarsh was rich in love and perseverance that she learned from her family Various family members spent a fortune on booze and smokes over the years, which belies...

  6. Mara says:

    This book is so timely for our moment that it is almost hard to believe that the author began working on itthan a decade ago Beautifully told, this memoir chronicles one family s life and times in Kansas as wheat farmers, trying to find their own American dream in a world where their true options were very limited Class is such a no no for American discourse, but these kinds of stories remind us why this must change I found I had difficulty connecting fully with this book, but this is d This book is so timely for our moment that it is a...

  7. Ashley says:

    So smart and thoughtful I was disappointed reading Hillbilly Elegy it didn t quite get the experience of growing up rural and or poor and getting out and what that means and how fraught that can be but Heartland succeeds where Hillbilly Elegy failed Sarah Smarsh just completely gets it and engage...

  8. Jaime says:

    A riveting blend of journalism and research and memoir, this book should be required reading for everyone That being said, I did wantfrom it I thought it would beof her story, but much of it is her family s story She skims over much of her own internal struggle and story, and almost talks around things sometimes Her college experience is described briefly and perfunctorily I wantedany of her graduate school experience, especially considering the dichotomy of impoverished A riveting blend of journalism and research and memoir, this book should be required reading for everyone That being said, I did wantfrom it I thought it would beof her story, but m...

  9. Nancy says:

    Read an ARC For fans of Nickel and Dimed which I am not.

  10. Brandi says:

    I like reading about lives that are very different from my own Sarah Smarsh is a good writer, and it was interesting to learn her family history and her views on the world But I really wish this book had been organized chronologically instead of thematically She jumped around in time, which made it hard to keep track of her many relatives and what they were doing And I m not really sure what each chapter s theme was supposed to be, since they were each so long and had multiple messages Ther I like reading about lives that are very different from my own Sarah Smarsh is a good writer, and it was interesting to learn her family history and her views on the world But I really wish this book had been organized chronologically instead of thematic...