Schilderslief

Posted In art

Op een julidag in 1650 wordt Geertje Dircx door de vroedschap van Amsterdam aangehouden, in een koets getrokken en voor twaalf jaar opgesloten in het spinhuis van Gouda Van een proces is geen sprake ze wordt monddood gemaakt Haar geliefde Rembrandt van Rijn heeft daartoe opdracht gegeven Vanuit

The Seekers

Posted In art

A small band of brave adventurers journey to save their village in this stunning debut picture book from papercut artists Hari Deepti Perfect for fans of Aaron Becker s Journey Mio and Nao live in the valley of Krum, above a great river that provides everything they need to survive As children,

The Blue Period

Posted In art

A riveting novel about the tragic romance that nearly destroyed a young Pablo Picasso while granting him his first flight of creative genius From rowdy Barcelona barrooms to the incandescent streets of turn of the century Paris, Pablo Picasso experiences the sumptuous highs and seedy lows of bohem

Costalegre

Posted In art

One of Literary Hub s Most Anticipated Books of 2019 A Best Book of Summer at amNY, Moda Operandi, Publishers Weekly, Southern Living, and Thrillist A Best Book of July at The Washington Post, Hello Giggles, Refinery 29, TIME Magazine, and Mind Body Green It is 1937, and Europe is on the brink of

The Judgment of Paris (The Odyssey Duet #2)

Posted In art

Love is honorable but selfish Love is a record of my wrongs.Love had fractured in trials but held on for the truth And the truth was he d hurt me, yet I loved him He d left me, yet I followed him But I was done with L o Baudin And as soon as the semester was over, I would be done with Paris Bu

Monstress Book One

Posted In art

2018 Eisner Award winner, Best Writer2018 Eisner Award winner, Best Painter Multimedia Artist2018 Eisner Award winner, Best Continuing Series2018 Eisner Award winner, Best Publication for Teens2018 Eisner Award winner, Best Cover Artist2018 Harvey Award winner, Book of the Year2018 Hugo Award winner

Bad Weekend

Posted In art

JUST IN TIME FOR CONVENTION SEASON the ultimate comic con crime tale Comics won t just break your heart Comics will just kill you Hal Crane should know, he s been around since practically the beginning Stuck at an out of town convention, waiting to receive a lifetime achievement award, Hal s wee

So Real It Hurts

Posted In art

So Real It Hurts is the perfect title for this collection It s a mission statement A few bleeding slices straight from the butcher shop A sampler from an enormous archive of work that will, no doubt, be pored over by grad students, book lovers, film historians, music nerds and straight up perver

The Great Believers

Posted In art

FINALIST FOR THE PULITZER PRIZE IN FICTIONWINNER OF THE ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDALWINNER OF THE LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FOR FICTION WINNER OF THE STONEWALL BOOK AWARDSHORTLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARDSoon to Be a Major Television Event, optioned by Amy Poehler A dazzling new novel of friendship

Sea Prayer

Posted In art

A short, powerful, illustrated book written by Khaled Hosseini in response to the current refugee crisis, Sea Prayer is composed in the form of a letter, from a father to his son, on the eve of their journey Watching over his sleeping son, the father reflects on the dangerous sea crossing that lies

The Doll Factory

Posted In art

The Doll Factory, the debut novel by Elizabeth Macneal, is an intoxicating story of art, obsession and possession London 1850 The Great Exhibition is being erected in Hyde Park and among the crowd watching the spectacle two people meet For Iris, an aspiring artist, it is the encounter of a momen

New Kid

Posted In art

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing than drawing cartoons about his life But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade As he mak

I'll Give You the Sun

Posted In art

We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story At first, Jude and her twin brother Noah, are inseparable Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wear

Hey, Kiddo

Posted In art

Hey, Kiddo is the graphic memoir of author illustrator Jarrett J Krosoczka Raised by his colorful grandparents, who adopted him because his mother was an incarcerated heroin addict, Krosoczka didn t know his father s name until he saw his birth certificate when registering for a school ski trip H